Another Subscription?!

Earlier today, Write Notebooks announced their plans to roll out a new membership. Now, I’m not bashing Write Notebooks. I haven’t used them but I know that the Erasable guys speak highly of them. I’m sure they are right fine notebooks. And I’m all for special editions, like the gang over at Field Notes HQ and the crew at Palomino has with their Volumes editions, but I have to wonder if we’re reaching the limit.

Don’t get me wrong, I like the concept and convenience, but I also know I end up spending more than I normally do. Take Field Notes, for example. I thought the recent Snowblind edition was neat, but I don’t know that I would have purchased a single pack, let alone two. And if the Blackwings are the same core with a different wrap, I really don’t know that I’ll continue that subscription.

Now, the flip side to all of this is that I really like how they are pushing the envelope on a lot of these products. I love the concept of the Blackwing 1138’s and the Field Notes Two Rivers edition. The subscription model puts the pressure on the creatives to continually innovate to create new things – a good thing even if every edition isn’t my cup of tea. The creative streak would probably lag without the pressure to come up with something new.

So, I don’t know if I will subscribe, but I don’t know that I won’t either. I wish Write Notebooks success in their endeavor. Competition is good. But I may have to sit this one out.

One thought on “Another Subscription?!

Leave a Reply

