Daily Write Up 01/12/2016 – National Pride

Evidently, Top Five Lists are popular! Thanks for the most views on yesterday’s post. I’ll do my Top Five Click Pens in the near future.

But, onto today’s topic. Over on the Erasable Facebook Group (and if you read this blog and are not hanging out there – really, what’s the reason?) there was some surprise at my selection of the Dong-A Fable. In fact, I know that at least one person went out to ebay and picked up some of these, underrated pencils.

I chalk this up to the fact that, in my view, the Korean stationery scene is vastly underrated. I think that Dong-A is a great company and Banditapple, although made in Thailand, are a Korean company. Tanzo is a great leather company for all our goodies. I on all, during my time in Seoul I was surprised at the amounts of stationery (including a whole street that was shop after shop after shop of pens, pencils, paper … ah, the memories!)

Now I wonder, what country has the best stationery scene? Is it Germany with Staedtler, Lamy, Faber*Castel and more? Is it Japan with Uni, Pilot, Tombow, Mitsubishi? Is it here in the USA with Musgrave, Field Notes and Palomino? It is hard to say. My favorite remains Korea, but I’m probably a sentimental sap.

What about you? Do you have a favorite stationery country? If you do, leave a comment below!

 

Leave a Reply

