My Obsession

It’s sort of a joke in my house. I’ll get an email or a text from my wife saying, “Did you order something?” I usually respond with a positive and say it’s a pen, pencil or notebook. Next comes the smiley and then I will say, “But I can stop at any time.”

Or I go to the store or the mall to get something and come home with some sort of writing instrument or notebook. Next thing I know, I am saying “But I can stop at any time.”

Even when I travel, whether to a far away land or just to another town, I look to see if there is a writing or office store. I hit the gift shop at the zoo or a museum looking for a pencil or a cup. As I’m paying for my latest fix, I plead with my wife, “But I can stop at any time.”

But I can’t. I really can’t. I am addicted. Obsessed. Hopelessly so. And there is no sense hiding it any more. My name is Thomas, and I’m obsessed with pens, pencils, notebooks and coffee mugs. And this blog is so I can share it with the world.

2 thoughts on “My Obsession

Leave a Reply

